DERBYSHIRE HERITAGE Derbyshire Peak District - higger-tor

Bakewell Union sign at Tansley

Bakewell Union sign at Tansley Bakewell Union sign at Tansley
The Union was a grouping of adjacent parishes jointly administering poor law affairs. The "union" was one of the slang names for the workhouse. Tansley became part of the Union in 1839.
Bakewell Union was formed July 21st 1838, the Board of Guardians (50) met every alternate Monday at 11.30am at the Workhouse.

Bakewell Union comprised the following places:
Abney & Abney Grange, Aldwark, Ashford, Bakewell, Baslow with Bubnell, Beeley, Birchover, Blackwell, Bradwell, Brushfield, Calver, Chatsworth, Chelmorton, Cromford, Curbar, Darley, Edensor, Elton, Eyam, Eyam Woodlands, Flagg, Foolow, Froggatt, Grange Mill, Gratton, Great Hucklow, Great Longstone with Holme, Great Rowsley, Grindlow, Hartington Middle Quarter, Harthill, Hassop, Hathersage, Hazelbadge, Highlow, Little Hucklow, Little Longstone, Litton, Matlock, Matlock Bath, Monyash, Middleton & Smerril, Nether Haddon, Nether Padley, Offerton Outseats, Over Haddon, Pilsey, Rowland, Sheldon, Stanton Stoke, Stony Middleton, Taddington & Priestcliff, Tansley, Tideswell, Wardlow, Wensley & Snitterton, Wetstone, Winster and Youlgreave.

The area of the whole Union was 104,617 acres, rateable value in 1895 £206,453 and population in 1891 was 32,153.
copyright © Derbyshire Heritage
site map